Ed Needs SBS 2003 transition pack help

Ed Needs SBS 2003 Transition Help!

My esteemed colleague Ed Carnes just asked me the following question. I am putting it out there for you, the reader, to assist me in answering. Please reply to my blog post.

I have a SBS 2003 Standard SP2 box I need to run a Transition pack on to split it to W2K3 Std and Ex2003 Std.  MS was telling me that a SBS 2003 R2 Transition pack disk would work on a non-R2 SBS machine – but as I recall when I last did in DEC 2007 they told me a R2 Transition would NOT work on a non-R2 SBS machine. Do you know of anyone who has done this lately or could shed light on the various flavors of the SBS Transition pack?

I will publish the results in a future newsletter issue.

3 Comments

Filed under Book

3 responses to “Ed Needs SBS 2003 transition pack help

  1. Hi Harry,

    Yes I can confirm this works. Had a client in this very situation last month and we applied the r2 tp to an sp1 system with no problems, other than the cost of course :>)

    C Ya,
    ha

  2. As I understand it, to be totally legal you need to buy the SBS RTM to SBS R2 upgrade first. It consists of a mostly empty box with a CD that has some patches that are mostly already on the server, plus the same R2 installer you run via CD2 of Windows Server 2003 R2.

    What i would really love to hear about is if anyone has done a transition pack on an SBS 2003 server that had SP2 applied. I have a customer that has SBS2003 with SP2, and wants to run the transition pack, but the spuninstall folder is gone and forever unrecoverable. I am considering doing a P2V on that server, then snapshotting and trying it. I am also considering copying an spuninstall folder from another SBS2003 machine into the VM and attempting a rollback to SP1.

    I’d love to hear others’ experiences on this.

  3. Regarding service packs and SBS transition packs:

    http://blogs.technet.com/sbs/archive/2006/01/12/417350.aspx

    “Users migrating to Windows Server 2003 from Windows Small Business Server using the Windows Small Business Server 2003 R2 Transition Pack: You should avoid installing Windows Server SP2 until after the upgrade. It is possible to back out of the service pack install afterwards, but it is a lot more work. The steps in KB 823836 (referenced in 932600) walk you through the correct uninstall procedure for SP1 and SP2. The Readme for Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2 has the full command line to remove the service pack. If at all possible, this is something most people will want to avoid. It is obviously a much cleaner process to upgrade then install the service pack rather than install the service pack, uninstall before upgrade, upgrade, then reapply the service pack.”

Leave a Reply

